We all love Twitter but have to be careful not to waste hours on social media. As writers, does it help you? What about the connections you’ve made? Or maybe, it’s more the social interaction?

We find it a lot of fun. It’s also a great way to find industry peeps and recommendations when you need a job done. We’re always on the look-out for talented people.

So, what about you? Is it helping you, or dragging you away from your writing?

Follow us : http://twitter.com/Indiopress

Don’t forget to follow novelist Elle Amberley :

http://twitter.com/ElleAmberley 

 

 

Twitter Tutorial : http://authopublisher.com/social-media/tutorial-for-twitter/tutorial-for-twitter-101-twitter-tips

Read this excellent post from http://occupationwriter.wordpress.com/

My first interaction with a writer on Twitter took place over two years ago. I had just finished reading Last Night in Montreal (Emily St. John Mandel’s first novel) and loved it so much that I raved about it through my Twitter account (@BibloGeek). Much to my surprise, Emily responded. This interaction convinced me of the power of Twitter for readers. At the time, hearing from an author on Twitter was akin to meeting a movie star. Not only did I … Read More

via Occupation: Writer

About indiopress

Small press dedicated to women's fiction

6 responses »

  1. Madison says:

    I daren’t go on it. Too much of a time drain, but I follow Elle’s blog, which I really like. I might do join though, it sounds so interesting.

  2. Tristan Elm says:

    Following writers like Elle is so cool. I like the fact she’s not just tweeting about her or her writing, which I love, but also about other writers and social issues I’d never have known about otherwise.

  3. Lily Richards says:

    Hi, came across your blog via Elle’s. Good point about Twitter and other networks. I deleted my Facebook account, it was getting too addictive. I prefer to interact with real people. Not many people on social networks get the social bit, so it’s nice when people like Elle do respond. She’s given me advice and encouraged me not to quit writing when I was ready to pack it in.

  4. Rachel writes says:

    Been thinking about Twitter, good arguments. Is it really fun though? So many people tweeting about lunch, or selling stuff? Undecided.

  5. carrie m says:

    Thanks for including my post here! I’m very flattered 🙂 I think I’ve decided that the secret to Twitter is boundaries (although I’ve been doing pretty poorly with them lately!). If you determine how much time you’re willing to spend on Twitter before you start and stick to those rules, it can be a very powerful tool.

  6. indiopress says:

    You’re very welcome! Boundaries and time management are tricky.
    Look forward to reading more of your posts

Leave a Reply

